NBL21: Round 1 Wrap-Up

Round 1 of NBL season 2021 was a mixed bag of results. Here is the wrap up of the Round 1 action.

Round 1 of NBL season 2021 was a mixed bag of results. A couple of blow outs but also a couple of really close encounters. Most of the results were expected, however a few came out of the blue. 

This NBL Season, I will be giving votes out to players after each game. The player with the most votes at the end of the season will be given the not so illustrious Knightmare Award, named after the former NBL Champion Matthew Knight.

Here is the wrap up of the Round 1 action.

Friday 15th January 2021

Adelaide 36ers defeated by Melbourne United (65-89)

Game 1 of Season 2021 was a close encounter for the first three quarters of the contest, however, the powerhouse United ran away with the game in the final quarter. With a 65-89 win for the Melbourne side. Jack White and Jock Landale stood out in their first game for the club. Landale with 10 points, 9 rebounds and 3 assists and White with 7 points, 8 rebounds and 2 assists. It wasn’t all bad for the Over-Dribbling 36ers with Veteran Daniel Johnson putting up an insane 29 points in 33 minutes. However, he was carrying the load too much on the offensive side of the game with no real back up, especially from the imports.


  1. Jo Lual-Acuil
  2. Daniel Johnson
  3. Jock Landale

Saturday 16th January 2021

Brisbane Bullets defeated by The Hawks (84-90)

In the Hawks first game under new head coach Brian Goorjian, they defeated the Brisbane Bullets by 6 points in an 84-90 contest. Justin Simon dominated the game for the Wollongong Side, leading the team with a 13 point, 8 rebound and 5 assist performance. While new Bullets Centre Harry Froling dominated the boards with a 10 point Double Double. Bullets Import Orlando Johnson left Brisbane fans wanting more from him, while it was reported that he was carrying an injury throughout the game. Hawks Small Forward Justinian Jessup also had an underwhelming performance against the Bullets but would silence his critics later in the round.


  1. Harry Froling
  2. Emmett Naar
  3. Justin Simon

Cairns Taipans defeat Sydney Kings (87-86)

The Taipans impressed in their first game of the season in a close 87-86 victory over the Kings in the Snag-pit. Scott Machado was easily the player of the game with 18 points, 8 rebounds and 8 assists for the North Queensland side. Even though he has a double double, Cam Oliver struggled for the Taipans, shooting at 30% from the field. Jordan hunter for the Kings impressed in his first game starting with a near double double and an effective shooting night from the field. 


  1. Mirko Djeric
  2. Jordan Hunter
  3. Scott Machado

Sunday 17th January 2021

Adelaide 36ers defeat SEM Phoenix in Double Overtime (116-108)

In the Game of the Round, the Adelaide 36ers defeated the SEM Phoenix in a double overtime contest 116-108. Daniel Johnson dominated the game until he fouled out on 33 points.  Next Star Josh Giddey showed what he was capable of in overtime. Ending up with a 16 point, 11 rebound and a 7 assist stat line. For the Phoenix, Mitch Creek put up 30 points in a losing effort. While on debut Yannick Weatzel ended up with a 24 point Double Double and Keifer Sykes ended up with 18 points and 11 assists. 


  1. Josh Giddey
  2. Mitch Creek
  3. Daniel Johnson

Monday 18th January 2021

Cairns Taipans defeated by The Hawks (76-92)

In the Upset of the round, the hawks defeated the Taipans 76-92 in a one sided contest. The Hawks dominated on both ends of the court. The loss of DJ Newbill showed in this game with the lack of defence that the Taipans played, gifting the Hawks easy points when they should be more contested. Hawks imports Simon, Harvey and their Next Star Jessup all performed incredibly well with Machado being the only shining light for the Taipans.


  1. Justinian Jessup
  2. Tyler Harvey
  3. Justin Simon

Leader Board after Round 1

  1. Justin Simon (6)
  2. Daniel Johnson (5)
  3. Jock Landale (3)
  4. Scott Machado (3)
  5. Tyler Harvey (2)
  6. Mitch Creek (2)
  7. Jordan Hunter (2)
  8. Emmett Naar (2)
  9. Jo Lual-Acuil (1)
  10. Justinian Jessup (1)
  11. Josh Giddey (1)
  12. Mirko Djeric (1)
  13. Harry Froling (1)